k-pop Surf logo

Ireland’s T20 World Cup squad: including Simi Singh

Ireland announced their squad for the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia and Simi Singh received a nod to Andy McBrine.

The 15-man group also returns to Conor Olphert and Craig Young, both absent from last month’s 3-2 win against Afghanistan in Stormont as they recovered from injury.

Singh retains his seat, replacing McBrine in the last two games of the series.

Graham Hume is another player involved against Afghanistan who misses this time.

The World Cup, which will be the first major tournament in Ireland under coach Heinrich Malan, starts on October 16.

Andrew White, chairman of the national men’s selectors, said in a statement from Cricket Ireland: “This is an exciting time for Irish cricket as we start another major world tournament.

“Over the past year, we’ve built a solid base squad while increasing the depth of our T20 cricket. I think fans have started to see the positive progress made by players in this format – especially after winning the series against Afghanistan – and we hope to bring this momentum to the tournament in Australia.

“Our belief is that the T20 World Cup is not the end point but the beginning of a new era. The age profile of this squad makes our prospects for the future very exciting, and after a season of spectacular performances, we have seen an increase in the interest of our players by teams in franchise tournaments around the world, which is a positive sign.

“One of the most thoughtful decisions we had to make was about bowling options. Since George Dockrell and Gareth Delany had an impact this summer and the volatility they bring to the attack, it came down to making a choice between Simi Singh and Andy McBrine.

“Andy may feel very unhappy to miss this time, but we believe Simi offers more variety in Australian goals thanks to his ability to pick the ball both right and left-handed.

“We believe this is one of the strongest T20 squads we have sent to the World Cup and wish the team and coaching staff the best of luck in the upcoming tournament.”

Ireland will travel to Australia on September 29 and travel to Sydney for three warm-up matches hosted by the Randwick Petersham Cricket Club.

They will then play two official warm-up matches in Melbourne against Namibia and Sri Lanka before moving on to Hobart, where they will begin their first round matches against Zimbabwe on October 17. The other teams in Group A are Scotland and the West Indies.

Ireland Squad: Andrew Balbirnie (Captain), Paul Stirling (Vice-Captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Simi Singh, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker , Craig Young.


K-pop news Daily

The latest on what’s moving k-pop world – delivered straight to your inbox




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *